KARIM BENZEMA crowned a great season by winning the Ballon d’Or.
But the Real Madrid forward was then plagued by an injury after being called up in France’s squad for the World Cup.
Although Benzema is now training with Real again, images from their Valdebebas base are emerging.
So would he be allowed to play in the World Cup final should France beat Morocco and make it?
BET SPECIAL – BEST BETTING APPS FOR THE WORLD CUP
Would Karim Benzema be allowed to play in the World Cup final?
Karim Benzema COULD play for France if they reach the World Cup final – as he was never officially replaced in the squad.
The Real star was ruled out by French coach Didier Deschamps but is back training with his club team.
Marca report that he has returned on time and has in fact been training without any problems since last Saturday.
And that means he could return if needed as he was never replaced in the France team.
World Cup 2022
Everything you need to know about the World Cup
However, Olivier Giroud’s strong form makes such a return unlikely as the AC Milan star’s goals have so far proved crucial for his nation in Qatar.
Benzema missed out on World Cup glory in 2018 due to his ongoing issue with compatriot Mathieu Valbuena, which kept him out of the national line-up until 2021.
https://www.the-sun.com/sport/6914622/karim-benzema-world-cup-final-france/ Would Karim Benzema be allowed to play for France in the World Cup final?