Sport

Why Dak Prescott’s touchdown was overturned, ruled a fumble in Cowboys vs. Patriots

blank

Twice it appeared just like the Cowboys had scored a landing. First, they had been dominated quick. Second, it was dominated they turned it over.

Dak Prescott tried a pair of quarterback sneaks from the Patriots’ 1-yard line, and on the primary attempt, it appeared like he might need been in. Nonetheless, he was dominated quick and the play was not reviewed. The following attempt, he tried to leap over the pile and whereas it was initially known as a landing, a evaluate discovered that he fumbled the ball and that New England recovered it with 1:30 left within the first half.

The Patriots wound out the clock from there to take a 14-10 lead into the half.

MORE: Cowboys vs. Patriots live score, updates, highlights

Why was Dak Prescott’s landing overturned?

This was not even probably the most controversial of the 2 calls. Video evaluate confirmed what appeared fairly clearly like linebacker Ja’Whaun Bentley knocking the ball unfastened in Prescott’s fingers as he was diving throughout the purpose line. 

As Prescott was attempting to cross the purpose line, he begins to lose possession of the ball as it’s seen falling out of his fingers. In response to NFL guidelines, the ball has to nonetheless be in possession of the ball because it goes above the airplane of the purpose line.

It was an enormous blow to a Dallas workforce that had been struggling to attain towards the Patriots within the first half. The Cowboys had scored a landing and discipline purpose earlier, however two different drives in the course of the recreation had resulted in a turnover on downs and an interception.

MORE: Giants’ Joe Judge explains why he kept Daniel Jones in for entire blowout loss vs. Rams

Why wasn’t Prescott’s third-down rush reviewed?

As beforehand said, each scoring play is reviewed. Nonetheless, if a participant is dominated quick, it isn’t mechanically reviewed by the officers.

And the Cowboys’ fingers had been tied on the play. All they might do was attempt to run one other play.

NFL rules state that head coaches can problem performs questioning whether or not the ball broke the airplane of the purpose line. Nonetheless, that rule is outmoded by the rule that claims solely the replay official, Senior Vice President of Officiating or their designee can provoke a evaluate of a play after the two-minute warning of every half.

MORE: Packers’ Aaron Rodgers explains instant-classic ‘I own you’ TD celebration

And sadly for the Cowboys, that third-down attempt was the primary play proper out of the two-minute warning.

So all coach Mike McCarthy might inform his workforce to do was run on the market and take a look at one other play. And that one was rather less disputed than the third-down try.

https://www.sportingnews.com/us/nfl/news/dak-prescott-fumble-touchdown-overturned-patriots-cowboys/15259ok4lt2ca12eijqrotwoiw | Why Dak Prescott’s landing was overturned, dominated a fumble in Cowboys vs. Patriots

PaulLeBlanc

Daily Nation Today is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@dailynationtoday.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button