“The French didn’t mention it” – World Cup final referee Marciniak hits back in a row over the Argentine goal with a devastating shot

REFEREE Szymon Marciniak has dismissed claims he should have scored Argentina’s third goal against France in the World Cup final.

French fans believe that Lionel Messi’s extra time should have been canceled as two Argentinian substitutes seemed to be on the pitch before the ball went in.

Szymon Marciniak has hit back after claims Argentina's third goal in the World Cup final should have been annulled

6

Szymon Marciniak has hit back after claims Argentina’s third goal in the World Cup final should have been annulledCredit:
French newspaper L'Equipe said the goal should have been ruled out

6

French newspaper L’Equipe said the goal should have been ruled outPhoto credit: L’EQUIPE
Two Argentinian substitutes appeared to be on the field before the ball crossed the line

6

Two Argentinian substitutes appeared to be on the field before the ball crossed the linePhoto credit: Twitter
Marciniak has subsequently claimed SEVEN French subs were on the pitch when Kylian Mbappe scored one of his goals

6

Marciniak has subsequently claimed SEVEN French subs were on the pitch when Kylian Mbappe scored one of his goalsPhoto credit: Getty

French newspaper L’Equipe also questioned why the gate was left standing.

The headline ‘Why Argentina’s third goal shouldn’t have been scored’ was followed by suggestions that the goal shouldn’t have been due to interference from the two players.

They argued that France should have gotten a free kick instead.

But Marciniak, 41, has now responded with damning evidence.

During a press conference, the Polish official pulled out his cell phone and showed a picture of him SEVEN French substitutes on the pitch as Kylian Mbappe scored one of his three goals.

According to journalist Zach LowryMarciniak claimed the photo was taken when Mbappe found the back of the net.

And he said: “The French didn’t mention this photo where you can see seven French people on the pitch when Mbappe scores a goal.”

It’s not clear which of Mbappe’s three World Cup goals Marciniak was referring to.

FREE BETS AND SIGN UP OFFERS – THE BEST DEALS FOR NEW CUSTOMERS

But his claims suggest that if Messi’s goal were not to be recognised, Mbappe should have received the same treatment.

Mbappe scored two quick goals in regulation time after Messi and Angel Di Maria put Argentina ahead.

Messi restored Argentina’s lead in extra time before Mbappe scored his hat-trick from the penalty spot and sent the game to penalties.

While Messi’s extra-time goal caused controversy, other fans were convinced Mbappe’s hat-trick goal shouldn’t have stood due to a handball in the build-up.

The ball appeared to hit Dayot Upamecano in the arm before Argentina defender Gonzalo Montiel was penalized for a handball.

Mbappe converted the resulting penalty to send a thrilling final to penalties, although Argentina prevailed on penalties.

Mbappe's stunning hat-trick was ultimately futile

6

Mbappe’s stunning hat-trick was ultimately futilePhoto credit: Getty
Messi and Argentina won 4-2 on penalties after a thrilling 3-3 draw

6

Messi and Argentina won 4-2 on penalties after a thrilling 3-3 drawPhoto credit: Getty

https://www.the-sun.com/sport/6982234/world-cup-final-ref-marciniak-row-argentina-goal/ “The French didn’t mention it” – World Cup final referee Marciniak hits back in a row over the Argentine goal with a devastating shot

ClareFora

Daily Nation Today is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@dailynationtoday.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button