The 2022 Independent Spirit Award Nominees: See the full list

The Spirit Awards will take place three weeks before next year’s Oscars and can influence Academy members before they even start voting.

37th time every year Independent Films Spirit Award back to a little more normal circumstances this year, with a live event set to take place on Santa Monica Beach on Saturday, March 6. That means the nominations are already here, in the midst of a whirlwind of events. The busy awards week included the reveal of Refurbished Golden Globes and Critics’ Choice Nominee for movies. Below, check out the full list of Independent Spirit nominees, as revealed by Beanie Feldstein, Regina Hall and Naomi Watts, and check out the announcement video below.

Traditionally held the Saturday before the Oscars, 2022 marks a change in the season, placing the God Awards right in the hallway leading up to the Oscar voting (with the final voting beginning on March 17). Historically, the ceremony took place in the early afternoon, the 2022 ceremony will be held at 5pm PST/8pm EST. As usual, the program will be broadcast on IFC channel.

A24 reigns supreme with a total of 13 nominations for films including “C’mon, C’mon,” “Zola,” “The Humans,” and “Red Rocket.” Notably, four women are nominated in this year’s Best Director category, including Janicza Bravo for “Zola”, Maggie Gyllenhaal for “The Lost Daughter”, Lauren Hadaway for “The Novice” and Ninja Thyberg for “Pleasure”.

36th Film Independent Spirit Award took place during a virtual ceremony hosted by “Saturday Night Live” breakout star Melissa Villaseñor. For the first time in history, the Spirit Awards 2021 also honors special content on TV.

Last year’s Spirit Awards were dominated by “Nomadland”, Best Picture, Best Director for Chloe Zhao, Best Cinematography and Best Editing. It went on to repeat three of those wins at the Oscars. Last year, Carey Mulligan (“Prospective Young Woman”), Riz Ahmed (“Sound of Metal”), Yuh-jung Youn (“Minari”) and Paul Raci (“Sound of Metal”) all took home acting awards. Top . On the TV side, “I May Destroy You” and “Unorthodox” won big.

The budget cut for qualifying movies is $22.5 million, which means we won’t be watching “Dog Power,” “Tick, Tick, Boom,” “Don’t Look Up,” or Netflix’s “The Harder They Fall” is on this list. Focus ‘”Belfast” also did not qualify, although it excelled yesterday in Golden Globe and Critics’ Choice nominations.

Best feature

“A Chiara”
“Come on”
“The Lost Daughter”
“The Novice”

Best Director

Janicza Bravo, “Zola”
Maggie Gyllenhaal, “The Lost Daughter”
Lauren Hadaway, “The Novice”
Mike Mills, “Come on, let’s go”
Ninja Thyberg, “Joy”

Best first feature

“7 days”
“Queen of Glory”
“Wild Indians”

Best Actress

Isabelle Fuhrman, “The Beginner”
Brittany S. Hall, “The Prototype”
Patti Harrison, “Together Together”
Taylor Paige, “Zola”
Taylor Reece, “Catch the Fair One”

Best Male Lead

Clifton Collins, Jr., “Jockey”
Frankie Faison, “The Death of Kenneth Chamberlain”
Michael Greyeyes, “Wild Indians”
Udo Kier, “Swan Song”
Simon Rex, “Red Rocket”

Best Female Support

Jessie Buckley, “The Lost Daughter”
Amy Forsyth, “The Novice”
Ruth Negga, “Overcoming”
Revika Anne Reustle, “Joy”
Suzanna Son, “Red Rocket”

Best Male Support

Colman Domingo, “Zola”
Meeko Gattuso, “Queen of Glory”
Troy Kotsur, “CODA”
Will Patton, “Sweet Thing”
Chaske Spencer, “Wild Indians”

Best script

“C’mon, c’mon”
“The Lost Daughter”
“Swan Song”

Best first scenario

“Wild Indians”

Best Cinematography

“A Chiara”
“Green water”

Best Editing

“A Chiara”
“The Death of Kenneth Chamberlain”
“The Novice”
“Inn like nowhere else”

Robert Altman Award

The director, cast, and staging director of “Mass”

Best Documentary

“Let’s roll”
“Summer of the Soul”

Best international movie

“Pocket number 6”
“Drive My Car”
“Parallel Mothers”
“Petite Maman”
“Prayer for the Stolen”

Someone to see the prize

Alex Camilleri, “Luzzu”
Gillian Wallace Horvat, “I Blame Society”
Michael Sarnoski, “The Pig”

Truer Than Fiction Award

“North by the current”
“Faya Dayi”
“Try more!”

John Cassavetes Award

“Baby Shiva”
“Sweet Thing”
“This is not a war story”

Producer Award

Brad Becker-Parton
Pin-Chun Liu
Lizzie Shapiro

Best New Documentary or No-Script Series

“Black and Lost”
“The Choe Show”
“The Lady and the Dale”
“Nuclear family”
“Philly DA”

The best new script series

“It’s a sin”
“Booking dog”
“Underground Railway”
“We Are Lady Parts”

Best Female Performance in a Scripted Series

Soo Mbedu, “Underground Railway”
Anjana Vasan, “We Are Women”
Jana Schmieding, “Rutherford Falls”
Jasmine Cephas Jones, “Blind Eyes”
Deborah Ayorinde, “FUL: Covenant”

Best Male Performance in a Scripted Series

Ollie Alexander, “It’s a Sin”
Murray Bartlett, “White Lotus”
Michael Greyeyes, “Rutherford Falls”
Ashley Thomas, “FULLY: Covenant”
Lee Jung-jae, “The Ink Game”

Best Cast in a Series With a New Screenplay

“Booking dog”

Registration: Stay up to date with the latest movies and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletter here.

https://www.indiewire.com/2021/12/independent-spirit-awards-nominations-2022-see-full-list-1234685383/ The 2022 Independent Spirit Award Nominees: See the full list

Aila Slisco

Daily Nation Today is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@dailynationtoday.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button