A NEW law is slated to go into effect that will affect golf cart drivers in Florida.
Currently, youth as young as 14 are allowed to drive a golf buggy, but the new law will come into effect on October 1.
Under the new legislation, Americans under the age of 18 are banned from driving golf buggies on the street unless they have a learner or full driver’s license, according to the state House of Representatives.
Golf cart drivers who are at least 18 years old must have a government issued ID to drive on the road.
Golf carts are an extremely popular form of transportation in Florida due to the year-round mild climate.
However, authorities are concerned about the number of golf cart-related accidents.
According to Florida television station WJXT, two teenagers were driving a golf cart when they collided with Candace Montgomery’s SUV in 2019.
She told the outlet, “He hit the gas pedal, turned the steering wheel and oversteered into my parked car.”
According to the American Academy of Pediatrics, more than 6,500 children are injured in golf buggy-related accidents each year.
According to the results, eight percent of the injuries are between the ages of zero and twelve, most of them in the head and neck area.
Linda Herrera welcomed the new policy, telling WPTV, “I think it’s great. We all think the neighborhood is really great.”
The state law comes after Martin County officials tightened local legislation.
Officials said the golf carts must be in placesimilar to cars like headlights, license plates, mirrors and windshield wipers.
Scott Beaver, chief of patrol at the St. John’s County Sheriff’s Office, told Democrat Tallahassee, “We don’t need 14-year-olds operating a golf cart on the freeway.”
Police officers have said youngsters need experience or knowledge of the law before taking to the streets.
Daniel Bonilla, father of four children, also welcomed the new regulation.
He told CBS affiliate WPEC, “If you can’t drive a personal vehicle, you probably shouldn’t be able to drive a golf cart.”
He also revealed that he had seen youths “driving recklessly” on the road.
Meanwhile, The US Sun reported on how Michigan officials have restricted cell phone use while driving.
It is now illegal to make phone calls, send or read text messages, post on social media, and use the internet.
Drivers will be fined $100 for the first violation, while the second violation will result in a $250 fine and/or 24 hours of community service.