A NEW law has tightened cell phone use by millions of American drivers while driving.
Cell phone use is a problem that safety experts have given serious publicity to and advised drivers not to do.
The road is very unpredictable and drivers need to react quickly to many situations they encounter while driving.
Mobile devices can hold our attention longer than we realize, making them incredibly distracting at the wheel of a car.
A new highway law in Alabama has tightened the rules and penalties for holding a cellphone while driving, the Alabama News Center reported.
Local Vestavia Hills Senator Jabo Waggoner has pushed the crackdown on the Distracted Driving Act through the legislative process.
Waggoner’s 18-year-old son died in a distracted car accident in 1979, making him a longtime advocate for strict driving laws.
He hopes the new law will lead to a reduction in similar distracted driving tragedies in the state.
According to the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, more than 3,500 people died in accidents involving distracted drivers nationwide in 2021.
If you are caught violating the tightened legislation, the fine for the first violation is $50.
If the authorities catch you doing it again within 24 months, you could face a $100 fine.
For the third time in the same period, motorists will be fined $150.
In addition to the cost of the tickets, points would be awarded to any driver caught using the phone while driving.
Alabama’s updated law builds on an earlier ban that made texting while driving illegal.
In the raid, merely holding a phone while driving is a secondary infraction.
There are some exceptions, such as B. an emergency call to the police or the fire brigade.
For example, law enforcement can’t stop you for talking on the phone, but officers can fine you after stopping you for another violation.