A NEW law went into effect today across Texas targeting drivers who give false information to the police.
The officials also take rigorous action against road users who do not show their driver’s license when questioned.
Drivers who fail to show their ID could be fined a hefty $500, ABC affiliate KLTV reported.
Previously, road users could only be charged with one administrative offence.
But anyone who provides false information at a traffic stop can expect a fine of up to $2,000.
They could even be jailed for up to 180 days for their troubles.
Police have alerted motorists that the law has changed.
Andy Erbaugh from TylerThe ministry told KLTV: “It is not a defense of your charge that you were unaware of the law.”
Erbaugh has urged motorists to learn about statewide laws.
It’s not the only oneLaw that went into effect today across Texas.
Another law requires drunk drivers who kill the parents of a child under 18 to pay child support.
Officials also crack down on drivers who fancy street racing.
From today, police officers have the power to confiscate illegal street racers’ cars and the vehicles can be sold at auction.
The money raised by the auction is invested in the fight against crime.
And a new bill passed by the state legislature will require EV owners to pay a fee when registering their car.
Texas law requires EV drivers to pay for a two-year license or $400 upfront.