New crackdown driving law implemented – and drivers could easily lose their license on a first offense

DRIVERS are being warned of a new state highway law that could result in your driver’s license being revoked after the first violation.

The recently introduced law in Delaware means those with $100 left over can settle the dispute in minutes, while others could face problems for months or even years.

Delaware's new highway laws state that anyone caught speeding and failing to pay could lose their driver's license


Delaware’s new highway laws state that anyone caught speeding and failing to pay could lose their driver’s licensePhoto credit: Getty
The state joins half of all US states that have debt-related driving restrictions


The state joins half of all US states that have debt-related driving restrictionsPhoto credit: Getty

The new highway law will see speed cameras installed in residential areas across the state, and those caught speeding could face fines and charges in excess of $100.

However, if you fail to pay on time, the government will revoke your driver’s license without exception and on the first offence.

All but emergency services workers risk being banned from driving due to the new aggressive approach to tackling speeding.

For those suffering from debt and unable to pay the fine, having a license revoked could be a nightmare.

Warning of new road laws that could result in $100 ticket and driver's license points
Motorists are just realizing they've broken seven strange traffic laws

It could result in their being unable to drive to work, take their children to school, attend doctor’s appointments, or even attend the court hearing to solve the traffic violation.

At least 23 states and Washington DC have enacted laws since 2017 limiting or ending driver’s license suspensions for non-payment of court debts.

However, according to the Fines and Fees Justice Center, “More than half of U.S. states suspend, revoke, or refuse to renew driver’s licenses for unpaid traffic, toll, misdemeanor and penalty fines and fees.”

“The result: Millions of people are struggling to survive with debt-related driving bans simply because they can’t afford a court penalty or fee — or because they missed a court hearing.”

Tennessee drivers have been warned about two new laws that went into effect just weeks ago.

Effective July 1, the laws aim to prevent drunk driving in the state.

Named after victims of drunk driving, The Silas Gable Flatt Law and Dillard’s Law aims to target drink drivers with harsh penalties, as well as those who enable them to do so.

Meanwhile, motorists have just discovered unique driving rules that can make everyday activities like sleeping in the car a risky proposition.

Several states, cities, and localities have unusual highway laws and regulations for seemingly legal activities, no matter how minor the violations.


TaraSubramaniam is a Dailynationtoday U.S. News Reporter based in London. His focus is on U.S. politics and the environment. He has covered climate change extensively, as well as healthcare and crime. TaraSubramaniam joined Dailynationtoday in 2023 from the Daily Express and previously worked for Chemist and Druggist and the Jewish Chronicle. He is a graduate of Cambridge University. Languages: English. You can get in touch with me by emailing:

Related Articles

Back to top button