NASCAR lineup at Talladega: Starting order, pole for Sunday’s playoff race without qualifying


The beginning lineup for Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Sequence playoff race at Talladega Superspeedway was set by making use of the statistical components NASCAR is utilizing for almost all of Cup races in 2021.

Drivers’ beginning positions for the YellaWood 500, the fifth race of the 2021 Cup Sequence playoffs and the second race within the Spherical of 12 (2 p.m. ET; NBC, TSN, MRN, SiriusXM NASCAR Radio), had been based mostly on 4 components:

  • Driver’s ending place from the earlier race (25 %)
  • Automobile proprietor’s ending place from the earlier race (25 %)
  • Workforce proprietor factors rating (35 %)
  • Quickest lap from the earlier race (15 %)

NASCAR is conducting qualifying for simply eight of the 36 Cup Sequence points-paying races within the 2021 season. Seven of these races have already been run; the one remaining race with qualifying is the season-ending Championship 4 race at Phoenix Raceway on Nov. 7.

Under is the beginning lineup, which was set with out qualifying, for Sunday’s NASCAR Cup Sequence playoff race on Talladega Superspeedway’s 2.66-mile oval.

MORE: Watch Sunday’s NASCAR race live with fuboTV (free 7-day trial)

Who gained the pole for the NASCAR race at Talladega?

Denny Hamlin, who has gained in every of the primary two rounds of the 2021 playoffs, will begin on the pole Sunday. Hamlin is already locked into the Spherical of 8 by advantage of his win final weekend at Las Vegas.

Hamlin’s Joe Gibbs Racing teammate Kyle Busch will probably be subsequent to him on the entrance row. Busch is coming off a third-place end at Las Vegas. He’s third within the playoffs factors standings, behind Hamlin and factors chief Kyle Larson, who will begin fifth Sunday.

MORE: NASCAR playoffs, explained

Per NASCAR’s playoff guidelines, the highest 12 spots in Sunday’s area went to the 12 remaining playoff drivers, however the beginning order was based mostly on the mathematical components NASCAR has used for almost all of its races this season.

NASCAR Cup playoff standings

NASCAR lists Denny Hamlin first within the playoff standings regardless that he trails Kyle Larson by 14 factors heading into Talladega. Hamlin is on high as a result of he already is thru to the Spherical of 8 together with his win at Las Vegas. A playoff driver who wins a race within the Spherical of 12 mechanically advances to the Spherical of 8.

MORE: Results from Las Vegas playoff race

Six drivers — Larson, Kyle Busch, Martin Truex Jr., Ryan Blaney, Chase Elliott and Joey Logano — can advance on factors alone Sunday. According to, they are going to must be 56 factors forward of the sixth or seventh winless driver within the standings relying on who wins the race.

NASCAR will cut back the playoff area to eight drivers after the Financial institution of America ROVAL 400 at Charlotte Motor Speedway on Oct. 10.  

Pos. Driver Factors
1 x-Denny Hamlin 3082
2 Kyle Larson 3096
3 Kyle Busch 3074
4 Martin Truex Jr. 3070
5 Ryan Blaney 3063
6 Chase Elliott 3061
7 Joey Logano 3045
8 Brad Keselowski 3043
9 William Byron 3039
10 Kevin Harvick 3036
11 Alex Bowman 3030
12 Christopher Bell 3018

x-Clinched berth within the Spherical of 8.

NASCAR beginning lineup at Talladega

NASCAR used a mathematical components to set the beginning lineup for Sunday’s playoff race at Talladega Superspeedway, the YellaWood 500. Forty vehicles had been entered for the race, which implies there will probably be a full area Sunday. Playoff drivers are denoted by “P-.”

Begin pos. Driver Automobile No. Workforce
1 P-Denny Hamlin 11 Joe Gibbs Racing
2 P-Kyle Busch 18 Joe Gibbs Racing
3 P-Chase Elliott 9 Hendrick Motorsports
4 P-Ryan Blaney 12 Workforce Penske
5 P-Kyle Larson 5 Hendrick Motorsports
6 P-Martin Truex Jr. 19 Joe Gibbs Racing
7 P-Brad Keselowski 2 Workforce Penske
8 P-Joey Logano 22 Workforce Penske
9 P-Kevin Harvick 4 Stewart-Haas Racing
10 P-William Byron 24 Hendrick Motorsports
11 P-Alex Bowman 48 Hendrick Motorsports
12 P-Christopher Bell 20 Joe Gibbs Racing
13 Tyler Reddick 8 Richard Childress Racing
14 Kurt Busch 1 Chip Ganassi Racing
15 Matt DiBenedetto 21 Wooden Brothers Racing
16 Austin Dillon 3 Richard Childress Racing
17 Chase Briscoe 14 Stewart-Haas Racing
18 Daniel Suárez 99 Trackhouse Racing
19 Bubba Wallace 23 23XI Racing
20 Aric Almirola 10 Stewart-Haas Racing
21 Ricky Stenhouse Jr. 47 JTG Daugherty Racing
22 Michael McDowell 34 Entrance Row Motorsports
23 Ross Chastain 42 Chip Ganassi Racing
24 Chris Buescher 17 Roush Fenway Racing
25 Ryan Newman 6 Roush Fenway Racing
26 Erik Jones 43 Richard Petty Motorsports
27 Ryan Preece 37 JTG Daugherty Racing
28 Cole Custer 41 Stewart-Haas Racing
29 Corey LaJoie 7 Spire Motorsports
30 Anthony Alfredo 38 Entrance Row Motorsports
31 Cody Ware 51 Petty Ware Racing
32 BJ McLeod 78 Dwell Quick Motorsports
33 Justin Allgaier 77 Spire Motorsports
34 Josh Bilicki 52 Rick Ware Racing
35 Quin Houff 00 StarCom Racing
36 Joey Gase 53 Rick Ware Racing
37 Garrett Smithley 15 Rick Ware Racing
38 Justin Haley 16 Kaulig Racing
39 David Starr 66 Motorsports Enterprise Administration
40 Landon Cassill 96 Gaunt Brothers Racing | NASCAR lineup at Talladega: Beginning order, pole for Sunday’s playoff race with out qualifying

Aila Slisco

Daily Nation Today is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button