Lionel Messi’s second goal for Argentina should NOT have been ALLOWED, observant fans claim as they discover a rule violation

LIONEL MESSI’s second goal in the World Cup final should NOT have come, eagle-eyed fans claim.

The Argentinian superstar scored twice en route to his side and lifted the trophy he coveted most in a thriller against France.

Lionel Messi gave Argentina a 3-2 lead in extra time

4

Lionel Messi gave Argentina a 3-2 lead in extra timePhoto credit: Getty
The 35-year-old celebrates his second goal

4

The 35-year-old celebrates his second goalPhoto credit: Getty

His first came from the penalty spot before Angel Di Maria made it 2-0 to put the Albiceleste in front.

However, Kylian Mbappe inspired an incredibly late French comeback as his quick double sent the match into overtime.

However, Messi, 35, put his side back in front in the 108th minute by scoring the rebound after Hugo Lloris saved Lautaro Martinez’s shot.

At first it looked like the try might be ruled out for offside as the linesman briefly raised his flag.

But when TV images confirmed Martinez had indeed been on the side in the build-up, the goal, almost cleared off the line by defender Jules Kounde, was left standing.

However, looking back at the goal from a wide angle, some fans believe it is SHOULD have been chalked off.

In a snap posted to Twitter, two Argentine substitutes could be seen on the pitch when Messi took the shot.

Their hasty celebrations meant their side had 13 players on the field.

HOW TO GET FREE BETS ON THE WORLD CUP

Argentina had 13 players on the field when Messi gave them a 3-2 lead

4

Argentina had 13 players on the field when Messi gave them a 3-2 leadPhoto credit: Twitter

One fan wrote: “Trivia. When the ball goes in there are two substitutes on the pitch. Argentina had thirteen players on the pitch.”

A second replied: “I noticed that too.”

While a third raged: “Wordless. But Argentina can’t win a World Cup without help? It’s embarrassing.”

Another wondered: “I don’t know if it’s a formality or if this can happen.”

One commenter argued that the injury didn’t really matter.

They tweeted: “Read the rules, did not interfere with the offer and the game, legal target.

“It has happened several times, including in Libertadores.”

As luck would have it, Mbappe would equalize again for France, scoring from the penalty spot after Leandro Paredes’ handball.

Brittany Murphy's brother opens up about his doomed attempt to solve her death
Messi wins the World Cup after a hat-trick by Mbappe in a thriller

Randal Kolo Muani had a chance to win it for Les Bleus with just seconds to go but was brilliantly thwarted by Emi Martinez.

And the Argentine stopper then played a big part in the penalty shoot-out, saving Kingsley Coman and infuriating Aurelien Tchouameni en route to a 4-2 win.

4

https://www.the-sun.com/sport/6944251/lionel-messi-argentina-goal-disallowed/ Lionel Messi’s second goal for Argentina should NOT have been ALLOWED, observant fans claim as they discover a rule violation

ClareFora

Daily Nation Today is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@dailynationtoday.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button