Journalists Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov Win Nobel Peace Prize for Fighting for Press Freedom

(OSLO) — The 2021 Nobel Peace Prize was awarded Friday to journalists Maria Ressa of the Philippines and Dmitry Muratov of Russia.

The Norwegian Nobel Committee cited their struggle for freedom of expression, stressing that it’s important in selling peace.

“Free, unbiased and fact-based journalism serves to guard in opposition to abuse of energy, lies and struggle propaganda,” mentioned Berit Reiss-Andersen, chair of the committee.

“With out freedom of expression and freedom of the press, it is going to be troublesome to efficiently promote fraternity between nations, disarmament and a greater world order to reach our time,” she mentioned.

[time-brightcove not-tgx=”true”]

Ressa in 2012 co-founded Rappler, a news web site that has centered “essential consideration on the (President Rodrigo) Duterte regime’s controversial, murderous anti-drug marketing campaign,” the Nobel committee mentioned.

Dmitry Muratov
Alexander Zemlianichenko–APOn this Oct. 7, 2021 file photograph, Novaya Gazeta editor Dmitry Muratov speaks throughout an interview with The Related Press on the Novaya Gazeta newspaper, in Moscow, Russia. The 2021 Nobel Peace Prize was awarded to journalists Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov for the struggle for freedom of expression within the Philippines and in Russia.

She and Rappler “have additionally documented how social media is getting used to unfold pretend news, harass opponents and manipulate public discourse.”

Reacting to the news, Ressa instructed Norway’s TV2 channel that “the federal government (of the Philippines) will clearly not be pleased,”

“I’m a little bit shocked. It’s actually emotional,” she added. “However I’m pleased on behalf of my workforce and want to thank the Nobel Committee for recognizing what we’re going by way of.”

Muratov was one of many founders of the unbiased Russian newspaper Novaya Gazeta in 1993.

“Novaya Gazeta is essentially the most unbiased newspaper in Russia at the moment, with a basically essential perspective in the direction of energy,” the Nobel committee mentioned.

“The newspaper’s fact-based journalism {and professional} integrity have made it an essential supply of knowledge on censurable features of Russian society hardly ever talked about by different media,” it added.

The Nobel committee famous that because the launch of Novaya Gazeta, six of its journalists have been killed, amongst them Anna Politkovskaya who lined Russia’s bloody battle in Chechnya.

Kremlin spokesman Dmitry Peskov hailed Muratov as a “gifted and courageous” particular person.

“We will congratulate Dmitry Muratov — he has constantly labored in accordance along with his beliefs,” Peskov mentioned in a convention name with reporters after the prize was introduced.

Reiss-Andersen famous that the peace prize has gone to journalists previously, together with Ernesto Teodoro Moneta of Italy who was cited in 1907 “for his work within the press and in peace conferences.”

In 1935, Carl von Ossietzky was awarded the prize “for his burning love for freedom of thought and expression” after revealing that Germany was secretly re-arming after World Battle I.

Reiss-Andersen additionally famous the dangers to free speech in at the moment’s world because of the unfold of faux news, noting that Ressa has been essential of Fb’s function in manipulating public debate. “Conveying pretend news and data that’s propaganda and unfaithful can also be a violation of freedom of expression, and all freedom of expression has its limitations. That can also be an important issue on this debate,” she mentioned.

The distinguished award is accompanied by a gold medal and 10 million Swedish kronor (over $1.14 million). The prize cash comes from a bequest left by the prize’s creator, Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel, who died in 1895.

On Monday, the Nobel Committee awarded the prize in physiology or drugs to People David Julius and Ardem Patapoutian for his or her discoveries into how the human body perceives temperature and touch.

The Nobel Prize in physics was awarded Tuesday to three scientists whose work found order in seeming disorder, serving to to elucidate and predict advanced forces of nature, together with increasing our understanding of local weather change.

Benjamin Record and David W.C. MacMillan have been named as laureates of the Nobel Prize for chemistry Wednesday for locating an easier and environmentally cleaner way to build molecules that can be utilized to make compounds, together with medicines and pesticides.

The Nobel Prize for literature was awarded Thursday to U.K.-based Tanzanian writer Abdulrazak Gurnah, who was acknowledged for his “uncompromising and compassionate penetration of the results of colonialism and the destiny of the refugee.”

Nonetheless to come back Monday is the prize for excellent work within the discipline economics.


Frank Jordans in Berlin, Vanessa Gera in Warsaw, Jan M. Olsen in Copenhagen, Denmark, and Vladimir Isachenkov in Russia contributed to this report. | Journalists Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov Win Nobel Peace Prize for Combating for Press Freedom

Aila Slisco

Daily Nation Today is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button