Journalists from Philippines, Russia win Nobel Peace Prize

The 2021 Nobel Peace Prize was awarded Friday to journalists Maria Ressa of the Philippines and Dmitry Muratov of Russia.

They have been cited for his or her battle for freedom of expression.

The winners have been introduced Friday by Berit Reiss-Andersen, chair of the Norwegian Nobel Committee.

“Free, unbiased and fact-based journalism serves to guard in opposition to abuse of energy, lies and struggle propaganda,” stated Reiss-Andersen.

“With out freedom of expression and freedom of the press, it will likely be tough to efficiently promote fraternity between nations, disarmament and a greater world order to reach our time.”

Ressa in 2012 co-founded Rappler, a news web site that has targeted “essential consideration on the [President Rodrigo] Duterte regime’s controversial, murderous anti-drug marketing campaign,” the Nobel committee stated.

She and Rappler “have additionally documented how social media is getting used to unfold pretend news, harass opponents and manipulate public discourse.”

Muratov was one of many founders of the unbiased Russian newspaper Novaya Gazeta in 1993.

“Novaya Gazeta is probably the most unbiased newspaper in Russia as we speak, with a basically essential angle in direction of energy,” the Nobel committee stated.

“The newspaper’s fact-based journalism {and professional} integrity have made it an necessary supply of data on censurable elements of Russian society not often talked about by different media.”

Kremlin sends congratulations

Kremlin spokesperson Dmitry Peskov congratulated Muratov on successful the prize, hailing him as a “proficient and courageous” individual.

“We will congratulate Dmitry Muratov — he has persistently labored in accordance together with his beliefs, he has adhered to his beliefs, he is proficient and courageous. It is a excessive appraisal and we congratulate him,” Peskov stated in a convention name with reporters after the prize was introduced.

The celebrated award comes with a gold medal and 10 million Swedish kronor (greater than $1.44 million Cdn). The prize cash comes from a bequest left by the prize’s creator, Swedish inventor Alfred Nobel, who died in 1896.

Last year’s prize went to the World Food Program, which was established in 1961 on the behest of U.S. President Dwight Eisenhower to battle starvation across the globe. The Rome-based UN company was lauded for in search of to finish hunger as “a weapon of struggle and battle.”

The Nobel Committee awarded prizes for medication, physics, chemistry and literature earlier this week.

Nonetheless to come back Monday is the prize for excellent work within the discipline of economics. | Journalists from Philippines, Russia win Nobel Peace Prize

Aila Slisco

Daily Nation Today is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button