I’ve worked in traffic court for decades – drivers are unaware that toll roads can result in additional fines and even arrests

An experienced traffic lawyer has warned motorists that their driving license could be revoked if they forget to pay their toll bills.

Toll booths across the East Coast accept E-ZPass vehicles, allowing cars and trucks to quickly pass through payment lanes without having to stop to withdraw their cash.

A traffic lawyer has warned drivers that their driving licenses could be revoked if they forget to pay their toll bills

2

A traffic lawyer has warned drivers that their driving licenses could be revoked if they forget to pay their toll billsPhoto credit: Getty
If you don't notify E-ZPass when you move, your bills will be sent to your previous address, the attorney said

2

If you don’t notify E-ZPass when you move, your bills will be sent to your previous address, the attorney saidPhoto credit: Getty

E-ZPass vehicles have an electronic toll collector that attaches to the windshield and keeps track of the amount you owe. You will then receive an invoice by post that you must pay.

Attorney Martin A. Kron from the traffic law firm Martin A. Kron & Associates, PC warned drivers to tell E-ZPass their new address if they move or they could get in big trouble with the New York Department of Motor Vehicles.

“If people don’t pay their tolls like they do with E-ZPass, their registration will be suspended,” Kron told The US Sun exclusively.

Kron explained that if E-ZPass sends you letters to an address where you no longer live, it can be a big problem because the fees are not paid.

I'm a traffic lawyer - a dashcam can prevent a traffic ticket, but it can backfire
I'm a traffic lawyer - 5 times drivers should have their ticket

If you have three or more Toll Authority collection violations due to non-payment of tolls within a five-year period, your registration will be suspended in accordance with the policy DMV.

The same consequence occurs if your unpaid tolls amount to $200 or more within a five-year period.

Driving with a suspended license is a misdemeanor in New York.

Fines can range from a maximum of $100 for a first offense to more than $500 if you are caught three times within 18 months Rosenblum law.

You can also be punished with up to 30 days in jail for your first offense and up to 180 days for your third offense in an 18-month period, Rosenblum Law said.

“But the most important thing is that you have a criminal record,” says Kron.

Kron said you can also have your registration suspended if you don’t turn in your old license plates.

He warned you not to return your license plates to the DMV: “Otherwise, your license and registration will be revoked because your insurance has lapsed.”

If you do not hand over your license plates, the traffic authority will assume that you are driving your car without insurance.

“So if you drive your car without insurance, you can be caught with either a suspended license or suspended registration, which is a misdemeanor in New York.”

In addition to a criminal record and a fine, “your driver’s license and registration would be suspended for the number of days you were uninsured without surrendering your license plate,” the attorney warned.

PaulLeBlanc

PaulLeBlanc is a Dailynationtoday U.S. News Reporter based in London. His focus is on U.S. politics and the environment. He has covered climate change extensively, as well as healthcare and crime. PaulLeBlanc joined Dailynationtoday in 2021 from the Daily Express and previously worked for Chemist and Druggist and the Jewish Chronicle. He is a graduate of Cambridge University. Languages: English. You can get in touch with me by emailing: paulleblanc@dailynationtoday.com.

Related Articles

Back to top button