How to view Platinum Jubilee Beacons near me

As per tradition, beacons are used to celebrate the Queen’s Platinum Jubilee.

On Thursday 2nd June 2022, bonfires will be lit across the UK and Commonwealth to kick off the Platinum Jubilee celebrations.

Royal Beacons were lit for the Queen's Diamond Jubilee in 2012


Royal Beacons were lit for the Queen’s Diamond Jubilee in 2012

What are the Platinum Jubilee Beacons?

A beacon is a fire or light, usually lit high as a warning, signal, or as a celebration. Beacons are similar to small bonfires.

The lighting of bonfires for ceremonial purposes has a long royal tradition.

Once used for communication, lighting beacons is now a purely ceremonial act.

In this case, the lighting of bonfires across the country and Commonwealth marks the start of the Queen’s Platinum Jubilee celebrations and symbolizes unity.

People in countries with Queen Elizabeth II as Head of State are encouraged to take part in this tradition, to gather and thank her for her seven-decade tenure as Prime Minister.

How to view Platinum Jubilee Beacons near me

Jubilee Beacons are lit throughout the UK, Isle of Man, Channel Islands and British Overseas Territories.

Also, Jubilee Beacons will be illuminated in the capitals of all Commonwealth nations.

Beacons will be lit in thousands of locations across the UK. If you’d like to attend your local ceremony in person, check the government website for your nearest Beacon Lighting event or other Platinum Jubilee events.

The lighting of the main bonfire on Thursday 2 June 2022 is scheduled to take place at around 9:00 p.m., while other bonfires will be lit together at 9:45 p.m.

Crowds will no doubt gather at Buckingham Palace to watch the event, or there will be large television screens showing the proceedings at other venues such as the Royal Parks in London.

On June 2, 2022, three different types of bonfires will be lit.

Thousands of Community Beacons will be lit by communities and charities across the UK, Channel Islands, Isle of Man and British Overseas Territories.

Commonwealth Beacon

54 Commonwealth Beacons are lit in all Commonwealth capitals.

main signal

The main bonfire, known as the Main Beacon, is lit at 9 p.m. How to view Platinum Jubilee Beacons near me


DevanCole is a Dailynationtoday U.S. News Reporter based in London. His focus is on U.S. politics and the environment. He has covered climate change extensively, as well as healthcare and crime. DevanCole joined Dailynationtoday in 2021 from the Daily Express and previously worked for Chemist and Druggist and the Jewish Chronicle. He is a graduate of Cambridge University. Languages: English. You can get in touch with me by emailing:

Related Articles

Back to top button