FIFA Ballon d’Or 2021 finalists: Full list of nominees for men’s & women’s awards, Kopa and Yashin trophy


France Soccer launched the shortlist of finalists for every of its main 2021 awards: the Ballon d’Or for male gamers, the Ballon d’Or for feminine gamers, the Kopa Trophy for greatest younger participant (Below-21), and the Yashin Trophy for greatest goalkeeper.

The U.S. males’s nationwide workforce’s 18-year-old star Giovanni Reyna is within the operating for the Kopa award, whereas U.S. ladies’s nationwide workforce midfielder Samantha Mewis is amongst 20 candidates to win the ladies’s Ballon d’Or.

Beneath is a breakdown of the finalists for every award, along with their membership affiliation and nationwide workforce. The final time these awards had been handed out was 2019, as France Soccer scratched the 2020 honors as a result of COVID-19 pandemic.

How are the FIFA Ballon d’Or nominees chosen?

According to France Football, a panel of 180 journalists from around the globe decided the 30 candidates for the boys’s Ballon d’Or, whereas a bunch of 50 worldwide journalists settled on the 20 nominees for the ladies’s award.

The ten Yashin Trophy finalists are chosen by the identical panel that picks the boys’s Ballon d’Or. 

They take journalists out of the image fully relating to the Kopa Trophy: A gaggle of 32 previous Ballon d’Or winners designate the ten Below-21 gamers within the operating for the highest younger participant award.

When is the 2021 Ballon d’Or winner introduced?

Now that the lists are out, the voting course of begins.

A number of worldwide journalists, nationwide workforce coaches and captains can be polled to find out the winners, with every voter being requested to pick their high 5.

As soon as that course of has been accomplished, the prestigious prizes can be handed out at a glitzy ceremony in Paris on November 29.

2021 FIFA Ballon d’Or Finalists (Males)

There are a complete of 30 finalists with most of the massive names you’d anticipate to see there. In current months there was a marketing campaign for Chelsea midfielders Jorginho and N’Golo Kante to win the award given the function they performed in Chelsea successful the UEFA Champions League. Jorginho was additionally a cog within the Italy workforce that received Euro 2021.

Messi was the final participant to win this award in 2019 for a file sixth time. Messi and his everlasting rival Ronaldo have shared 11 of the final 12 Ballons d’Or between them, with Actual Madrid midfielder Luka Modric the one man to have damaged their duopoly in 2018.

Title Place Membership Nationwide Workforce
Cesar Azpilicueta DF Chelsea Spain
Nicolo Barella MF Inter Milan Italy
Karim Benzema FW Actual Madrid France
Leonardo Bonucci DF Juventus Italy
Giorgio Chiellini DF Juventus Italy
Kevin De Bruyne MF Manchester Metropolis Belgium
Ruben Dias DF Manchester Metropolis Portugal
Gianluigi Donnarumma GK PSG Italy
Bruno Fernandes MF Manchester United Portugal
Phil Foden FW Manchester Metropolis England
Erling Haaland FW Borussia Dortmund Norway
Jorginho MF Chelsea Italy
Harry Kane FW Tottenham Hotspur England
N’Golo Kante MF Chelsea France
Simon Kjaer DF AC Milan Denmark
Robert Lewandowski FW Bayern Munich Germany
Romelu Lukaku FW Chelsea Belgium
Riyad Mahrez FW Manchester Metropolis Algeria
Lautaro Martinez  FW Inter Milan Argentina
Kylian Mbappe FW PSG France
Lionel Messi FW PSG Argentina
Luka Modric MF Actual Madrid Croatia
Gerard Moreno  FW Villarreal Spain
Mason Mount MF Chelsea England
Neymar FW PSG Brazil
Pedri MF FC Barcelona Spain
Cristiano Ronaldo FW Manchester United Portugal
Mohamed Salah FW Liverpool Egypt
Raheem Sterling  FW Manchester Metropolis England
Luis Suarez FW Atletico Madrid Uruguay

2021 FIFA Ballon d’Or Finalists (Ladies)

The nominees for the ladies’s award whole 20, together with Sam Kerr, Pernille Tougher, and Vivianne Miedema making the listing.

The final winner was Megan Rapinoe in 2019, however she wasn’t among the many ultimate candidates. Mewis is the one American nominee.

Alexia Putellas, who received this yr’s UEFA Ladies’s Participant of the Yr award is on the listing, in addition to three main contributors for Canada’s Olympic gold medal winners: Jessie Fleming, Ashley Lawrence and Christine Sinclair.

Title Place Membership Nationwide Workforce
Stina Blackstenius FW BK Hacken Sweden
Kadidiatou Diani FW PSG France
Christiane Endler GK Olympique Lyon Chile
Magdalena Eriksson DF Chelsea Sweden
Jessie Fleming MF Chelsea Canada
Pernille Tougher FW Chelsea Denmark
Jennifer Hermoso FW FC Barcelona Spain
Marie-Antoinette Katoto FW PSG France
Sam Kerr FW Chelsea Australia
Fran Kirby FW Chelsea England
Ashley Lawrence DF PSG Canada
Lieke Martens MF FC Barcelona Netherlands
Samantha Mewis MF NC Braveness USA
Vivianne Miedema FW Arsenal Netherlands
Sandra Panos GK FC Barcelona Spain
Irene Paredes DF FC Barcelona Spain
Alexia Putellas MF FC Barcelona Spain
Wendie Renard DF Olympique Lyon France
Christine Sinclair  FW Portland Thorns Canada
Ellen White FW Manchester Metropolis England

2021 FIFA Kopa Trophy finalists

Title Place Membership Nationwide Workforce
Jude Bellingham MF Borussia Dortmund England
Jeremy Doku FW Rennes Belgium
Ryan Gravenberch MF Ajax Netherlands
Mason Greenwood FW Manchester United England
Nuno Mendes DF PSG Portugal
Jamal Musiala MF Bayern Munich Germany
Pedri MF FC Barcelona Spain
Giovanni Reyna MF Borussia Dortmund USA
Bukayo Saka FW Arsenal England
Florian Wirtz MF Bayer Leverkusen Germany

2021 FIFA Yashin Trophy finalists

Title Place Membership Nationwide Workforce
Thibaut Courtois GK Actual Madrid Belgium
Gigi Donnarumma GK PSG Italy
Ederson GK Manchester Metropolis Brazil
Samir Handanovic GK Inter Milan Slovenia
Emiliano Martínez GK Aston Villa Argentina
Edouard Mendy GK Chelsea Senegal
Keylor Navas GK PSG Costa Rica
Manuel Neuer GK  Bayern Munich Germany
Jan Oblak GK Atletico Madrid Slovenia
Kasper Schmeichel GK Leicester Metropolis Denmark | FIFA Ballon d’Or 2021 finalists: Full listing of nominees for males’s & ladies’s awards, Kopa and Yashin trophy


Daily Nation Today is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button