Technology

Facebook attempts to stop leaks by making some message boards private

For weeks, Fb has been coping with quite a few bombshell revelations ensuing from an enormous cache of leaked internal documents. Now, Fb is making some teams on its inside Office message boards about platform security and defending elections non-public, according to The New York Times. The transfer is seemingly in an effort to forestall additional leaks.

It’s unclear precisely what number of teams shall be taken non-public, so we don’t know the way broadly Fb is locking issues down.

“Leaks lower the effectiveness, effectivity, and morale of the groups working daily to handle the challenges that include working a platform for billions of individuals,” Fb mentioned in an announcement. “They’ll additionally put workers engaged on delicate topics in danger externally and result in complicated subjects being misrepresented and misunderstood.” The corporate tells The Verge the transfer had been within the works for months.

Fb’s choice follows final week’s Congressional testimony by Facebook whistleblower Frances Haugen, a former staffer within the Civic Integrity group who was the supply of the leaked paperwork. On Monday, Haugen accepted an invitation to talk to Fb’s unbiased Oversight Board, and later this month, she is scheduled to testify before the UK Parliament.

Replace October thirteenth, 7:53PM ET: Added context from Fb that the change had been within the works for months.

https://www.theverge.com/2021/10/13/22725122/facebook-workplace-internal-message-boards-private | Fb makes an attempt to cease leaks by making some message boards non-public

DevanCole

Daily Nation Today is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – admin@dailynationtoday.com. The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button