BERNARDO SILVA didn’t celebrate with Portugal as he feared conceding a goal.
Goncalo Ramos put Portugal ahead in the World Cup round of 16 against Switzerland with a brilliant goal.
But Silva was waiting on the pitch to congratulate the striker while the rest of his teammates celebrated near the stands.
And quick-thinking fans have pointed out that the Manchester City star did so because he wanted to avoid conceding.
It has been suggested that after a goal has been scored, under Fifa laws, play can resume once all members of the scoring team are no longer in the opponents’ half.
And the claim is that when players are off the field, that counts as not being in the opponent’s half.
The same fan theory was circulated at the 2018 World Cup when Kieran Trippier was the only England outfield player not to attend the side’s celebrations following Harry Kane’s late win over Tunisia.
However, Rule 8 states that “all players other than the player taking the kick-off must be in their own half of the field” for play to proceed.
This means that Silva could have celebrated without having to fear a restart in Switzerland.
But the 28-year-old nonetheless received praise from viewers, who were impressed by his presence of mind.
One wrote: “Bernardo Silva too smart. Came back onto the pitch quickly during the celebrations, preventing play from resuming. 🎩”
HOW TO GET FREE BETS ON THE WORLD CUP
Another added: “Bernardo Silva plays 5D chess and runs back onto the field so the Swiss can’t restart too quickly.”
And a third said: “Note that during the celebrations Bernando Silva stays alive and runs back onto the pitch. Elite mentality.”
Luckily for Silva, he didn’t miss the celebrations long as Portugal set up their quarter-final encounter with Morocco with a six against Switzerland.
https://www.the-sun.com/sport/6857674/bernardo-silva-portugal-world-cup-switzerland/ Eagle-eyed fans find out why Bernardo Silva did NOT celebrate with his Portuguese pals in World Cup win over Switzerland