AFI’s Top Movies and TV Shows of 2021: The Power of the Dog, ” The Succession,’ More

This year’s jury was diverse with their picks from some of the most exclusive creators in the industry, as Netflix, HBO Max, and Apple TV+ scored multiple nominations.

The American Film Institute’s annual list of the top 10 movies and TV shows of the year always includes many of the top awards, and this year was no exception. The jury – a mix of critics, academics and film experts – honors the best works of American film and television. The virtual jury awarded three Special Awards this year, to Kenneth Branagh’s festival hit “Belfast” (from the UK), Netflixglobal blockbuster “Squid Game” (by South Korea) and Searchlight’s documentary “Summer of Soul… (Or, When the Revolution Couldn’t Be Televised).”

Last year, Lin-Manuel Miranda’s Disney+ adaptation of the Broadway play “Hamilton” won a special award; This year, Miranda’s rookie film “Tick, Tick, Boom” made the Top 10, along with films by acclaimed veterans Adam McKay, Paul Thomas Anderson, Denis Villeneuve, Guillermo del Toro, Jane Campion, Joel Coen and Steven Spielberg, as well as relative newcomers Sian Heder and Reinaldo Marcus Green.

Like last year, eight out of ten films are directed by men, with two women – Campion (“The power of the dog”) and Heder (“CODA”) – also present on deck in honor. On the television front, newcomers to “Hacks,” “Maid,” “Mare of Easttown,” “Reservation Dogs,” “Schmigadoon,” “The Underground Railroad,” “Wandavision” and “The White Lotus” outnumbered the newcomers. the shows came back “Ted Lasso” and “Heir, “While “The Mandalorian” does not appear this time.

Netflix received three nominations in the film aspect (“Don’t Look Up,” “The Power of the Dog,” “Tick, Tick, Boom”) and one of the top ten nominations on television (“The Servant.” girls”) plus a grand prize (“Squidgame”), while Apple TV+ landed the movie “CODA” alongside the “Schmigadoon” and “Ted Lasso” series. HBO Max recorded three series (“Mare of Easttown”, “Succession” and “White Lotus”).

Among the Oscar-awaited works that were left behind were “The Lost Daughter” by Maggie Gyllenhaal, “Being the Ricardos” by Aaron Sorkin, “House of Gucci” and “The Last Duel” by Ridley Scott and “Spencer” ” by Pablo Larrain.

Honorees will gather to celebrate over an intimate lunch at the Four Seasons on January 7, 2022, while AFI’s Film Club will present official films with content new on

This year’s jury included Lee Isaac Chung, Liz Hannah, Anjelica Huston, and Ed Zwick; historians Annette Insdorf, LS Kim, Akira Mizuta Lippit, Leonard Maltin, Ellen Seiter and Robert Thompson; AFI Board of Directors; film critics Shawn Edwards from the Association of African American Film Critics and Claudia Puig from the Association of Film Critics of Los Angeles; and film and television critics from newspapers such as the Los Angeles Times, National Public Radio, Rolling Stone, TV Guide, and The Washington Post. The jury was chaired by AFI Board member, Jeanine Basinger (Emerita President and Founder of the Department of Film Studies, Wesleyan University) and AFI Vice President Richard Frank (former President) Walt Disney Television, President of Walt Disney Studios, President of the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences).

Check out the full list of honorees for both film and television below.

Amy Forsyth, Daniel Durant, Marlee Matlin and Troy Kotsur


Apple TV +


“Don’t look up”
“Sand Dunes”
“King Richard”
“Licorice Pizza”
“Nightmare Alley”
“The Power of the Dog”
“Tick Tick Boom”
“The Tragedy of Macbeth”
“Western Tales”


“Mare of Easttown”
“Booking dog”
“Ted Lasso”
“Underground Railway”
“White Lotus”


“Squid Fishing Game”
“Summer of the Soul (…Or, when the revolution can’t be televised)”

Registration: Stay up to date with the latest movies and TV news! Sign up for our Email Newsletter here. AFI’s Top Movies and TV Shows of 2021: The Power of the Dog, ” The Succession,’ More

Aila Slisco

Daily Nation Today is an automatic aggregator of the all world’s media. In each content, the hyperlink to the primary source is specified. All trademarks belong to their rightful owners, all materials to their authors. If you are the owner of the content and do not want us to publish your materials, please contact us by email – The content will be deleted within 24 hours.

Related Articles

Back to top button